DUI

Attorney Bell is an expert in the practice area of DUI defense.

He has adjudicated more than 2000 DUI cases in several counties in Southern California.

It is important for people to know the potential penalties they face when charged with a DUI in the State of California.

The DUI Criminal Charges

23152 (a) VC  Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol

23152 (b) VC  Driving With a BAC of .08% or more, by weight, in his/her system  

23152 (f)  VC  Driving Under the Influence of any Drug  (This includes both lawful and unlawful drugs)

23140 (a)  VC  Under 21 DUI: it is unlawful for a person under the age of 21 years who has 0.05 % or more, by weight, of alcohol in his or her blood to drive a vehicle. 

California Criminal Penalties for a DUI Conviction

1ST DUI

23152 (a) VC or 23152 (b) VC

$2,000 Court fine (payable at $50 per month)   

6 months jail maximum; two days jail minimum (no jail)

(Possible 180 days jail sentence suspended)

5 years informal probation; (VNL; do not drive with any alcohol in system)

“Priorable” as a DUI conviction for 10 years

First Conviction DUI Program (FCP) (3 months)

1 Madd Panel

0 days Public Work Service (PWS) only if the defendant is under a .15% BAC 

4 months California Driver’s License (CDL) suspension

2 points on DMV record for 3 three years

2nd DUI

23152 (a) VC or 23152 (b) VC

$2,500 Court fine (payable at $50 per month)   

one year jail maximum; four days jail minimum

5 years informal probation; (VNL; do not drive with any alcohol in system)

“Priorable” as a DUI conviction for 10 years

One year jail maximum for probation violation, if applicable

Multiple Conviction DUI Program (18 months)

1 Madd Panel

10 days Public Work Service (PWS)

One year California Driver’s License (CDL) suspension; plus

6 months CDL restriction

2 points on DMV record for 3 three years

3rd DUI

23152 (a) VC or 23152 (b) VC

$2,500  fine

one year jail maximum; four days jail minimum

5 years informal probation; (VNL; do not drive with any alcohol in system)

“Priorable” as a DUI conviction for 10 years

One year jail maximum for probation violation, if applicable

Multiple Conviction DUI Program (18 months)

1 Madd Panel

10 days Public Work Service (PWS)

One year California Driver’s License (CDL) suspension; plus

6 months CDL restriction

2 points on DMV record for 3 three years

$3,000 fine

4th DUI (felony)

           marijuana DUI

           prescription drug DUI 

           boating DUI